We've updated some things - please give us feedback when something isn't working as it should. e-Mail: user-support@sondorsforum.com Read more... ×
Adam Young

Sondors Fat E-bike on Craiglist (needs repair?)- Newbie seeking advice

Hello,

My name is Adam, and let me start off by saying I am a total newbie here! I am totally new to the world of E-bikes, but have been researching them the past few weeks. Today, a Sondors Fat E-bike was just listed on Craigslist for $275. The owner has indicated that the 350 watt Bafang geared hub motor has rusted and seized internally and is not repairable. Included in the deal is the following: - 2016 SONDORS V2 FAT TIRE E-BIKE w/pedal assist (top speed ~20MPH), HUGE 4" tires, front suspension fork and Tektro Mechanical Disc brakes, Original Panasonic Lithium-ion bottle battery 36V/12.8 Ah with key-lock mount, 2 Samsung Lithium-ion add-on batteries 36V/4.4Ah (UFINE 10501, 2P10SSAMSUNG22P), Upgraded Lunacycle controller and LCD, Upgraded Ritchey 4-Axis Adjustable Handlebar Stem, Upgraded puncture-resistant inner tubes, XT60 battery connectors and splitter cable for add-on battery, Original SANS 36v charger, Pak-Rak snap-on carrier rack + bag with expandable saddle bags, Steel fenders, Spare inner tube, Can of fix-a-flat for bikes

Im waiting on a response from the owner, but curious to know what the Sondors community thinks. Here are my questions:

1.) Is this common, for a motor to completely seize and rust up? I think the bike is a 2016. 
2.) Should I take this as an indication that other components or the Bicycle itself are also in poor shape?
3.) Can anyone provide an estimate, or determine if its reasonable and makes economic sense to replace the motor unit?

4.) Could the average joe, with little to no E-bike experience figure this thing out and get it working?

5.) Is this a poor deal? good deal? great deal?

Thanks! 

Screen Shot 2018-11-29 at 5.25.18 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-11-29 at 5.25.30 PM.png