The Nightly Fold X Report

I got to ride some more on Buffy's Fold X tonight. This was my first real ride after altering the LCD programing. Testing has now shown a stock Fold X with nothing more than Program changes to the LCD can do 23 mph on a flat, hot off the charger with no pedaling. You might be able to pedal assist to 25 but you'll look like a human egg beater doing it . With the slightest of advantage, such as a light tailwind, or downhill grade, 25 mph is easily attainable without pedaling, and I saw it do that several times.
Another area I got to explore was handling. Since I haven't had time yet to install a proper headlight, I'm riding in the dark. I'm doing high speed testing in the dark. Don't try this at home kids, I'm a professional lol. I rode down some well known bumpy streets. Usually in the daytime I have to keep my eyes pealed for cracks and potholes, but in the dark I found all of them. What I noticed was that at pretty high speed, 20 mph and up, the ride was a lot smoother than I expected, especially when hitting bumps. At the same time I didn't feel like the bike was as bouncy as my fatty was with stock tires. It's running 20 psi.
Range is looking really good. I'm ready to say 30 miles will be easy, and 40 miles with a little more effort. With a lot more effort than I care to do 50 miles. I think the new Panasonic 14ah 48v battery is very high quality, and I'm like the faster charging.
So the bottom like is the ride is pretty smooth. As far as street riding goes, I'm not too impressed with the stock simi knobbies. They're really noisy at speed like the fatty tires. My Hook Worms are silent. I think some new street tires we be in the Folds future.
Also have some other changes planned, but keeping them under my hat for now.

• Thanks 1
  • 6 months later...