BreakAes

Thinking About Buying A Fold X

Thinking About Buying A Fold X

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of e-bikes. Originally I thought I'd get a recumbent trike for exercise, due to the fact that I have a spinal cord injury and I thought that would provide more stability. But when I tried one I couldn't go that fast, at least for now.

I wasn't aware that Sondors sold affordable e-bikes though. A Fold X would probably cost about as much as a recumbent trike and is powered, so I'd like to demo a Sondors bike to see if I want to go that route.

Is there anybody close to the Bellingham, Washington area that would be willing to let me demo their Sondors e-bike?

Also, I understand the Fold X model has just been released, but are the electronics well-encased and protected against rain? Do you just need to cover the LCD screen, or is there more to worry about when riding in the rain? It rains a lot during most months here.

Anything else I should know about the Fold X model? And would the Fold X provide the best bang for the buck, out of all the folding e-bikes out there?

Thanks!

I have Sondors 4.9 wheel ebike for two year weather has never been a problem,I road it in rain an snow.The LCD will be fine probably as long as you keep it in garage when your not riding it. I had no problem with bike since nov 2015. Good luck

Thanks for the link. Do you guys know if there are any other folding e-bikes out there that would compete with the Sondors Fold on price, or otherwise offer a really good bang for the buck?

I ended up finding the Rad Mini. It's somewhat close in price to the Fold X, which is what I'd be considering. The Fold X with the Shimano gear option is $1,123 shipped vs $1,499 for the Rad Mini.

The Rad Mini has front and rear racks, and a 750 watt motor, but a smaller battery. It's also 62 pounds, whereas the Fold X is 50 pounds.