Sign in to follow this  
MattRobertson

Pedals?

I've been doing a lot of looking around and reading these last 24 hrs since I put my order in.  Perhaps I am mistaken but it seems just about no one is replacing the flat pedals with something you can clip into for improved application of force in the pedal stroke.  In the olden days this was done with toe clips, but that was followed with a variety of mechanisms to keep you from falling over at stop lights - i.e. they let you clip back out when the need arises.

Is everyone just focused in a different direction (the throttle) or am I missing something?  There's a lot to be gained by using more of that pedal stroke.

Plus I have the shoes in the closet still :-)

Edited by MoneyPit

First, I am a complete newb when it comes to ebikes. I can't see a reason for clips or even toe cages with my Sonders original. The pedal assist, even at the first level requires such little effort that, for me, at least, you should just save your money and spend it on some other accessory.

Well, I just ordered an ebike yesterday so I can't get any greener on them unless it was yesterday.  But insofar as cycling goes I have decades of daily commuting and a fair bit of recreational riding, so its hard for me to let this go easily.

ATB clips and straps are $8.72 on Amazon, so not much money involved here.  Now that I am looking I also see there are such things as strapless clips which would completely preserve convenience.  From a quick bit of googling:

https://store.bikefriday.com/index.php?cPath=50

With plain pedals, you are applying pressure for only about 25% of the pedal stroke (on a clock face, the stroke goes from about 1:30 to 4:30).  With open clips a non-motivated person can go to 50% of the stroke no problem.  Call it 11:30 to 5:30 on the clock face.  Tighten them (you can still pull out if wearing street shoes) and try to work it and you can go to a little more into the upstroke.